神秘内容 Loading...


Global vote picks Seven Wonders
The Great Wall of China is among the modern-day Seven Wonders
A non-profit foundation has named the Seven New Wonders of the World at a ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal.

The Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu in Peru, Brazil's Statue of Christ Redeemer, the Colosseum in Rome and Jordan's Petra all made the list. (来源:英语学习门户网站EnglishCN.com)

The Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza in Mexico and India's Taj Mahal were also picked, but England's Stonehenge and the Eiffel Tower in Paris missed out.

Organisers say about 100m people cast votes over the internet and by phone.

The New7Wonders campaign is the brainchild of a Swiss man, Bernard Weber, who has had a varied career as a film-maker and museum curator.

Recognising achievements

American actress Hilary Swank said at the presentation ceremony: "Never before in history have so many people participated in a global decision."

Organisers say the contest was a chance to recognise the achievements of societies outside Europe and the Middle East.

There are fears the ruins at Chichen Itza could have too many tourists

The original list of seven wonders was established more than 2,000 years ago by Greek scholars.

It included the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Colossus of Rhodes, the ancient lighthouse outside Alexandria, the great pyramid at Giza - the only survivor - and three other long-vanished edifices.

The campaign has been some six years in the making.

But the United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (Unesco) - which has long had its own World Heritage List - has criticised the organisation's approach.

Unesco argues that the list is very limited. Its own World Heritage List numbers sites including 660 cultural and 166 natural.

Success in the competition will not be popular with everyone.

Archaeologists said the Mayan ruins, at Chichen Itza in south-eastern Mexico could be hit by an avalanche of additional visitors and that the extra wear and tear could force authorities to limit the tourist traffic.

 The New7Wonders organization is happy to announce the following 7 candidates have been elected to represent global heritage throughout history.

The Great Wall, China Petra, Jordan Christ Redeemer, Brazil Machu Picchu, Peru
Chichén Itzá, Mexico The Roman Colosseum, Italy The Taj Mahal, India























神秘内容 Loading...


·战胜过敏的20种方法 20 Ways to Combat Allergies
·提高视力的简单方法 Improve Your Vision
·缓解工作压力的秘方 Secrets to Managing Workpla
·10大健康诀窍 Top 10 Nutrition and Fitness Tips
·5个让你不饿的简单规则 5 Simple Rules to Beat H
·戏剧的起源 The Beginning of Drama
·Big Apple为什么是纽约的别称?

上一篇:美国大学网址大全 American Universities  
下一篇:联合国教科文组织抨击新七大奇迹评选UNESCO slams new seven wonders list
[返回顶部] [打印本页] [关闭窗口]